To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

To understand the most important characteristics of a society one should study its deep rooted traditions which have been preserved for centuries. Only studying major cities which are almost always subjected to outside influences, is not a good reference of the society because it does not clearly reflect the inherent spirit. So I do not agree with the statement that one must study major cities to understand a society.

Major cities are a societies gateway to out side world. So any new traditions, fashions, styles first establish in a city society and then slowly infiltrate in to more distinct areas. For example Colombo is the economic hub of Sri Lanka. Most of the major industries, Businesses, Business owners, Government institutions are located here. Most people living here are not inherent land owners but tenants. They spent a whole different life style which is a combination of western culture and eastern culture than there relatives who is living few hundred kilometers away from the capital leads a more traditional life style. so if one comes to a conclusion about the whole society just by studying a major city it will be a huge deviation from the truth.

The study about the society should starts with the micro element; the family, how a family fit together, there interactions among each other. But in a big city the interactions are vague among parents and children. In terms of religion city and rural area has lots of differences. In a city, religious activities are more economized. Best example is the difference in how Christmas is celebrated in a big city and in a rural church. City tends to have the technological edge than a rural area. Many people interact with each other using social networking web sites.And other activities are vastly different from the way how there distant counterparts do.

In conclusion, It is not possible to unearth the abstract of a society just by studying major cities. As a sociologist who studies a society one should study the stem of the society which holds every thing together, the religion of the majority and minority, different traditions and ethics, auspicious activities, beliefs . It is not possible to do a correct study of a society just by analyzing a major city.