To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Today, cities are becoming more important than ever in our society. Since the living conditions and job opportunities are much better in urban areas, most of the population is trying to immigrate there. Because of these developments and the mass amount of people in one place, some believe that if a person wants to know about a nation, he or she can look at the major cities of that country. However, this statement may not hold true for all cities and this essay will try to explain why.

First of all, when it is thought about the characteristics of a society, the first things which come into our mind are culture, economic condition, and politics of that country. So, does the modern cities give enough information about these features? Of course, not. Let’s take New York City as an example where one can find many types of traditions and cultures co-existing. Another great example can be the historical city, London. Although the British Royal family is still in the city, a foreigner visiting it may encounter many cultures.

It is also worth mentioning that a multi-cultured society is true only for major cities in developed countries where job opportunities and living conditions are attractive. However, if one looks at the cases of cities in developing countries, it can be noticed that the majority living there are citizens of that nation which allows you to communicate with them and draw up your mind about that nation’s characteristics.

Moreover, if ancient cities are taken into consideration, the statement being discussed may also hold true. Since in the past, transportation was not well developed, many had to work in the same place where they were born. Such factors led the cities to be occupied by only local people. For instance, archeologists were able to study the habits of Roman people by investigating the ruins of ancient towns.

To sum up, although studying the cities in order to understand the characteristics of a society may still be a possible way for not yet developed countries, in the next few years it will become the most ineffective method.