To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A society is defined by its culture and traditions as they reflect the most fundamental and innate characteristics of the members of that

society,be it the territorial instinct of animals such as rhinoceros or the killer instinct of aquatic species such as sharks.This is no

exception to human societies as well.A society may adapt and change its functioning owing to the external changes such as industrialization

or massive technological development and may lose its most fundamental characteristics in the process. But the lesser developed areas of the

society remain largely unaffected and thereby preserve the archaic values.

A usual city routine is characterized by rush hours,stress,long commutes,exasperating working hours takiing a toll on people's health

and this can be found in any of the world's cities.These only scratch the surface of the actual characteristic of a society.Whereas , bullicoic

places such as villages offer a more rustic view of the society.The rudimentary lifestyle of the people,their habitats,culture,folklore,etc all

these elements give the actual taste of a society's most important characteristics.This is plausible as even for studying the human

characteristics, historians had to study our ancestors right from apes through neanderthals to homo sapiens.

An apt illustration to support this convection is japan,one of the worlds most technologically advanced countries with innumerable

breakthroughs in domains such as automation,robotics,etc. But its most conspicuous values of cleanliness, love for hygiene, importance of a

happy and contented life are known an praised all over the world. In a way,these rustic values have defined the perception people have about

the country.

Similarly India,a country with an immense love for science, technology,maths ,engineering which is proven by the masses of engineers

it produces every year, is famous and accoladed for its rich culture and traditions which can be found in the remotest corners of the country.

India is founded upon the principles laid down by the highly coveted vedas and upanishads,mythological epics such as the ramayana and

mahabharata.People from all over the world used to come to india to study in universities such as nalanada and takshashila which world known

for their immensely knowledgeable teachers and tradition.Today,all this won't be seen in the mega cities such as Mumbai,Delhi or Bangalore.But

in places such as uttar pradesh and the southern india , these age old values and traditions are still preserved and passed on to the students.

Cities fail to preserve and represent the actual flavour of its characteristicand potray only a superficical sketch of its foundations

It is the remote and lesser developed areas where these values are preserved and cherished as there exists no rat race for a high social status,

globalization and efforts to 'fit in' with the evolving world.Hence , in order to comprehend the most important characteristics of a society,one

must study its rustic areas.