To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

The issue of whether or not one must study major cities to understand the most important characteristics of a society is a contentious one. While each side has its strength and weakness I believe that one cannot rely alone on big cities to understand complex characteristics of a society. Furthermore, I often feel that in big cities everyone is running in a rat race and nobody has time for things like culture, society and community.

Firstly, major cities become major because of urbanization and industrialization. On one hand these processes does offer more employment opportunity but on the other hand they force us in a rat race where each and everybody is running to earn a decent livelihood for themselves. Amid all of this, people often neglect culture and religion.

Secondly, small cities have a lot to offer if someone needs to understand a society. As in small cities there still exist a culture of having small closely knitted societies where people celebrate festivals together, they care more about each other. In short feeling of fraternity is still there in small cities. I remember I went to ALWAR a small city near JAIPUR with my grandfather and grandmother. I had the biggest shock of my life there. As, even though we live in Delhi we try to follow each and every ritual at our home. Still going to Alwar shocked me so much! I never thought that despite being from the same religious background I would find so many differences in the way rituals are done. In my home usually my mom and grandmother perform rituals as per their convenience in a very boring manner. But in Alwar same rituals were performed ebulliently. Everyone came together and the atmosphere was so exciting.

Lastly, I feel that in big cities there are so many ways of self entertaining that people in big cities prefer to be alone. Specially this earphone culture, it is ruining everything.

Some might argue that a big city due to urbanization and industrialization attracts people to it, creating diversity in the population. This diversity gives a perfect chance to study most important characteristics of the society. Well, it’s true. But the main underlying problem is that people don’t interact much. Neither they have time for it nor are they willing to do it.

In conclusion, big cities to offer diversity in people living there but it is of no use. If one has to know more about societies and culture of a place then nothing can beat small cities. Small cities still holds the essence of culture and religion.