To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Our world has gone through some advance modernization in the last three decades. With the advent of world of globalization, our major cities have gone through some major advancements to keep up with everything. The author averts that it is necessary to study the majors cities of a country to understand the characteristics of a society. I disagree with it and provide two examples to substantiate the same.

Lets us consider one of the characteristically diverse country like India. We know there are many religions in India and every state has variance in their characters. Many cities have gone through modernization only in the last few years. However, they do not really showcase much of their culture and are inclined to be on the same lines of development with cities in other western countries. This is one of the many factors as to why we can lean on cities to study about the society's culture.

On the other hand, we get to study the traditional culture and history of a society by concentrating on its rural, partially developed towns and villages. The united kingdom has a plethora of towns and villages which did not go under a lot of modernization. By visiting and studying these towns and cities, one can get to know more about the country's heritage, history and traditions. We can study as how people used to live their lives with what they had and come up with locally sourced material. There are many small factories and family owned shops who make their own products from scratch like chocolate, wine, clothes.

I would like to conclude by saying that it is good to study the main cities to know about a society however, one can never truly know about the true characteristics of a society by studying their cities alone. There are many other sources like monuments, museums, towns and villages that would give a better picture of a society's true culture.