To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Every society has its own cultural heritage, norms. A society comprises its own set of rules, rituals and cultures. To conduct a study on a society different aspects are taken into account. A society is based on a locality or a country. According to the author, to understand a society, one must study its major cities. I mostly agree with prompt. However, it is true that a society can change in future but its cities may stay the same.And as a society change, new customs,rules, rituals can arrive at that place and my vanquish the ramnants of the past one. To support my thesis, I am giving three reasons and expatiating them in the subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, a society comprises of norms, culture, set of rules and regulation. And a society is build upon a geographic area that may comprises a single city or more cities.

And to understand their characteristcs, one need to look upon their norms, culture and how they behave communally. And also when a society established once, its characteristics started to show up in its major cities. For example, during premodern ages, agriculture was the only means of living for human. They cutivated lands and harvest crops. They build up in a common place "city" where they dwelled their corps and other foods. Back then major cities were the center for agricultural business. Farmers from everywhere came into the city and sold their corps. Back then cities only focused on agricultural food development. Another example can be, french society adorn culture specially art from the early ages. The city of france clearly manifest its characteristic. From the above examples we can scrutinize that to understand a characteristic of a society one should study its major cities.

Secondly, major cities comprise of the cutlure of a society . For example, Venice in italy has always been portaryed as a city of tranquility that also reflects its people and their culture. Another supporting example can be, Medina in saudi arabia is the center for arab Muslims. From the time where Prophet Muhammad conquer the city it became the center for muslim society. And major muslim culture were later built based on that society. Clearly today Medina city reflect the characteristic of that society.

However, it is not always true that city represents it society characteristics. A society may be banished for many reasons with no relics. So the argument may not hold always true.