To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

While I agree with the statement that the characteristics of a country can be found in its major city, I do have some reservations regarding the counter too. While I do believe that major cities represent what is this country about in aspects of culture, heritage, urbanization, and development of the whole communities, there are certain aspects of the society that can be seen lost somewhere in the major cities and could be only found upon looking at more remote areas.

Major cities have been built in order to create an image that represents the culture or heritage of that place as much as possible. This can be seen in countries like India. For instance, food is a prominent part of India and it can be observed that major cities have indeed lots of them in large quantities and varieties.

Building upon the same example each city tries to represent the enriched culture of that particular state. There is also another aspect of major cities that might help in studying major characteristics which is that they have a diverse population. Post urbanization, people from every part of the country have migrated to such cities and this diversity combines to make a different culture. These cultures have different thinking initially, but at last, it submerges into one, defining prime characteristics of accepted behavior and culture. Singapore is the best example of such a culture. Where people from various parts of Asia have united to be called Singaporeans. People who at last are diversified have a respect for each other's culture and they have figured out how to co-exist. This also says a lot about a culture's characteristics.

While there are parts of cities that are not influenced by their country's culture and characteristics, rather they have adapted from western countries. This has been a common trend among developing countries. Societies of major cities often adapt to western cultures' behavioral attributes. Making the country's own characteristics less unique and banal.

Now the original characteristics of the society can be observed when small towns are also taken into account. This is where western culture has its least influence. For instance, in India major cities have popularly endorsed the concept of nuclear families, while looking at the small towns, it is still believed to stay in a joint family with every member since it is a major characteristic of that society.

While these characteristics differ all across the country, they still are more specific and uninfluenced. To study these characteristics one must weigh what major factors are to be studied, how many a character from other parts of the world, and is there any observable change in the past few years. These will help one define a lot more about society. For instance, Section 377 in India recently approved the support for LGBTQ+ communities but still, the people in India are adapting to that change. While the remote area might be against it for several years, a positive aspect of this adaptation can be seen in major cities. Changing characteristics should also define society's characteristics. Since it will be who they are in several years.