To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities

Cities are crucial parts of every country. Many countries have cosmopolitan cities with diverse people, cultures, and many wonderful attributes of the city. In a major city where the population exceeds 5 million or above it becomes difficult to predict a common value of it yet somehow we can estimate its values or cultures by the nature of people.

I mostly disagree with the idea that the characteristics of society can be dependent on its major cities. It only affects us on a certain level but as a whole. I have one reason to explain this.

In a major city that can be cosmopolitan, different types of people having different values, characters, and natures live there and be a part of the city. mostly these peoples with their respective values come from different parts of the country, states, and even foreign countries. For instance, let's take the example of Mumbai. Mumbai is a cosmopolitan city that has a 20 million population. Since it has a diverse population coming from different states, people over time has not changed their culture or behavior. The only thing that people say is the presence of honesty and integrity with each other.

These values that have emerged from cities like integrity have not been much affected in the countryside. this type of common quality can not be seen in other major city like Delhi where there is less amount of integrity seen as compared to Mumbai.

The major part of the characteristics of the society can be determined by where they belong and only a minor part of their characteristics can be determined by where they are leaving or in which city.