The United States should dispense with regulated speed limits on interstate highways, since drivers rarely abide by them.

The statement claims that the UnitedStates should dispense with regulated speed limits on interstate highways because it seems that drivers do not usually obey them. Although it might seem plausible to disregard laws which are not effective, we can't just dispense with regulated speed limits on interstate highways, since the laws regarding this issue are made to make sure that the possibility of incidents and accidents that could be fatal are minimized. Moreover, simply dismissing laws because citizens do not follow them could lead to many damages and a state of anarchy. Therefore, I can not entirely agree with the statement.

laws regarding regulating speed on interstate highways are particularly enforced to prevent accidents from happening. Since interstate highways are very long and wide and it takes a long time to pass through them, drivers become restless and bored and tend to drive with extremely high speeds while driving through them to get to their destination faster. A tired driver might not think meticulously at the time about the consequences of driving with high speed, but it does not mean that steering exceedingly fast is not dangerous. Law-makers have rightfully realized that there needs to be a limit to the speed of driving on interstate highways. it is cogent to deduce that if two vehicles both drive extremely fast when they crash, the blow would be very strong and could easily lead to loss of life on both parts. As a matter of fact, statistics show that people who disregard speed regulations are responsible for the majority of the accidents in interstate highways. Therefore the law is justly addressing a pressing issue germane to driving in interstate highways. However, if people tend to disobey speeding laws, research should take place to understand what cause this kind of disregard for the law, so that the law can be revised in a way that is more realistic and applicable.

Another Assumption that the statement makes is that if the law is not followed by drivers, it should result in the dismantlement of that law. However, it is not plausible to conclude that laws should only be enforced if they are being followed. There are many proper laws that a portion of the population might not follow them, that benefit society's well-being and safety. Moreover, if there are no laws in place, society could end up in a state of anarchy and disharmony. it is not possible to function properly without certain regulations which structure how we live our lives in society as a whole. The dismantlement of the regulated speed limits could lead to many drivers getting used to reckless driving and disregarding their own and other people's safety. This type of irresponsible behavior than easily lead to havoc in society and have further negative repercussion that can go beyond reckless driving in interstate highways.

As mentioned earlier, when are instances where laws are not being obeyed, there needs to be a thorough examination of the reasons behind such a phenomenon. Proper action must be taken to adjust the laws in ways that are in congruency with people's needs and expectations, but simply disregarding and remitting a law would only cause further complications and hurdles.Therefore based on the reasons stated above, the validity of the statement is limited.