Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Nowadays the synchronized educational environmental is very complex and one controversial issue is the existence or not in a curriculum, a variety of courses outside of the student’s field of study. A vast portion of academics assert that there is no adequate space for courses which target in other fields of sciences in universities. On the other hand, some experts contend that courses which cover different area of sciences would be more beneficial for the students. It is my personal belief that universities should give emphasis to expertise each student on the specific field of study that he/she has chosen giving parallel the chance for options for courses who target in other fields of study.

It would be naïve albeit for someone to not take into consideration the beneficial aspects of an hypothetical enforcement from universities to students to take courses that cover subjects out of the main scope of their field of study. These courses will broaden the horizons of students and will give them the opportunity to gain more holistic approach in their way of thinking. A recently published survey in the credible magazine ScientificAmerican concludes that actually the courses which guides the students in differential pathways of knowledge are more and more acceptable and the survey makes a prediction that in some years this approach will be the priority of universities.

In contrast with the above argument, prominent academics promote the idea that universities should give emphasis on the expertised courses of each field in order to prepare probably the students for the future working environment. The students after their graduation will face a highly demanding and antagonistic environment in which the specialized knowledge and thoroughly theoretical background is needed in order to thrive and pursue an important career. Thus, there is no space in current curriculums to devote time in other courses of other field of study. For instance, the majority of universities in Europe shape their curriculums strictly to the selected field of study giving some options for some minor courses in more general fields of study.

To conclude up, the universities should give emphasis to provide as expertised knowledge as possible to the students, as this is more important in our demanding working environment in comparison with the broaden education of someone.