Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study.

In today’s competitive world, knowledge about a single field of study doesn’t do much good. People are changing, and their needs, too. A person with a degree in a single subject is not considered important. With the changing world, job requirements are changing, too. Nobody wants to hire a person who has devoted all his college life to a single subject. Employers want their employees to have knowledge in variegated subjects. Therefore, the author’s statement is cogent and rational.

One must remember the apophthegm, “known is a pond, unknown is an ocean”. Focusing only on a single field of study occludes our mind to think only in a certain direction. Our creativity ossifies and our ability to change the world, even a little, is occluded. Focusing only one area of study is like a frog in a pond; just like the frog is oblivious to the outside world, we are obfuscated about other studies that might help in making our future bright. The proliferation of technology, changing environment and liberal thinking is a result of people choosing multi-disciplinary subjects. For instance, Mukesh Ambani, India’s richest man would not be where he is today had it not been for his interest in learning new things and opting for multiple courses outside his field of study in college. Similarly, Robots would not be invented had mechanical engineering not mixed with computer engineering and varied fields of science. There are so many inventions and ideas that have been generated and can be generated with the juxtaposition and amalgamation of different fields. A circus in Germany uses holograms of animals in the show considering the need to obviate animal cruelty.

It is necessary for universities to offer students a variety of courses, not only for the benefit of students, also for its own benefit. Universities gain recognition on the basis of the courses it offers and success rate of students. Offering multiple courses not only help them attract more students, but gain recognition in the market, as success rate of students contributing to the society increases as they learn about new and different things to apply practically. It is in college, when students learn the most. Interacting with people of various cultures, ideologies and learning and realizing their area of interest help them think pragmatically.

In contrast, some might think that burdening the students with different courses will make them lose focus from their field of study and make them mechanical. It is important for students to grow, which cannot happen without interacting with people, sharing ones views and understanding them. Studying, albeit, makes us ready for the job market, it cannot help is deal with the outside world, with diverse groups of people. Physical and mental health and studies are considered to be in concomitance.

It is, therefore, crucial for universities to offer its students courses outside their field of study, but it should not be mandated. Students should be taught the importance of learning multi-disciplinary subjects with the need to maintain physical and mental health. Every person is different, so it should depend on the student whether to opt for elective subjects or not, according to their needs, preferences and ability.