Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education is an extremely powerful weapon, yet the definition of this term to many people is quite provincial. The role of education in a person’s life is not only to enlighten him in a certain field of study, but to ensure that the person has the ability to communicate his ideas to other, bring them to life, and also be a valuable member of his community. Therefore, universities should not only focus on imparting subject knowledge, but should also ensure that they produce students that are well-rounded, have a broad outlook, and possess skills to make their way through life once they leave the bird’s nest. This can definitely be achieved if universities focus on the holistic development of the student by introducing courses outside the student’s field of study.

Firstly, such a requirement in universities would help broaden the outlook of the student. An engineering student who has strong fundamentals and is also innovative might want to put his creativity and knowledge to use and implement an idea that can be beneficial to other. Here, if courses such as those of management and economics are a part of his curriculum, he can use this amalgam and perhaps create a very beneficial and prosperous business someday. This could also work the other way round. A business student who takes courses related to environmental science could perhaps couple his knowledge and also come up with a great idea for a start-up. Even if students don’t do ahead and build start-ups, they’ll at least not be ignorant of fundamental issues in other fields of study that affect him on a day-today basis, hence, expanding his horizons.

To add to the above point, knowledge of certain subjects is extremely crucial and hence, must be compulsory, as they are fundamental life skills. Subjects like management, economics, personal finance, physical exercise, communication, home economics among many others play an important role in the daily routine of any person and hence, cannot be neglected. These might or might not be taught to a student by his parents, but can definitely be taught at an educational institute. A student pursuing computer science might be adept at programming or development because he religiously follows his coursework and put in efforts of his own but might be severely deficient in communicating with other and building interpersonal relationships. In such a situation, he will pass his exams with flying colors and be every teacher’s pet, yet be unable to present himself well to an interviewee at a job interview or build a strong network of people. Eventually, this extremely diligent student would lose out on well-deserved opportunities because even though his university education provided him with all the knowledge of the world with respect to his major, it failed him in terms of making him an actual functional human being. Whereas, if he had probably taken a course in public speaking or communication skills, he would have had a proper platform to work on this weakness.

Finally, it can be helpful in case the student decides to take a different career path than the one he is majoring in. Young people cannot be expected to know exactly what they wish to do for their rest of their lives, yet they are forced to declare their majors as soon as they turn into adults. Having a mix of courses in the curriculum would provide the student with a platform to explore and experiment, and finally realize where his passion truly lies. This could also provide flexibility when it comes to a change in career paths, as the student would already have some fundamental knowledge of the new career that he is pursuing because he had taken a couple of course related to it in university. This would also be more credible to job hunters and could be the student’s foot in the door of the new industry.

Ultimately, it depends on the student to leverage such a liberal opportunity of taking a variety of courses to expand his knowledge, but students definitely should be given such an option in their college lives.