Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Every Student studying a degree has a certain set of skills apart from his area of interests. Only way a students can discover their interests if they are exposed to them at the University level. I agree with the author’s statement that Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside student’s field of study.

The statement defends the prediction that maybe the degree or the course the student might be studying might be having vague job opportunities in near future, due to everchanging trends in the demand for jobs. For Example, a student pursuing Mechanical Engineering as a subject can take a course in Data Science or Machine learning, which can help him get a job in the Computer Science Domain, whose job opportunities are increasing drastically day by day.

Another compelling argument against the speaker’s claim, Universities requiring every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study can help in better research in a certain domain. In a Research project, there are various number of researchers involved specializing in their respective domain. If a researcher is working on drug discovery, the project might require knowledge of human anatomy, animal anatomy, chemicals, physicians, data analysis. Etc. So, if a researchers have superficial knowledge of the domains it can help to carry out research in a more understandable and a quicker way.

However, it can also be argued that it can be more academic pressure on a student to learn different courses outside their area of interests. Making the rule mandatory might make students lose interest in what they are studying. For Example, if a student is interested in pure Data Science, making him/her study Medical Science course would not be beneficial.

Therefore, it is true that it is important for universities to require every student to learn outside their field of study and help them get exposure to different domains of education. However, it should be also taken into consideration that it doesn’t become an academic pressure on the student.