Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

There is a very famous proverb in Hindi that translates as follows: "For a piece of gold to purify, it has to go through the scorching heat from fire." In order to refine one's skills, in order to grow as a person, holistically, one has to endure a seemingly arduous journey. it is the journey, not the destination, that teaches a person a lot of themselves and provides ample opportunities to make oneself capable to accept success. I completely agree with the claim that the most valuable lessons in life are learnt during the period of struggle and hardships. Achieving the goal is just the cherry on top of the cake. I present the following reasons to support my stance.

More often, it is us who are the biggest obstacle for our own progress. The Duning-Kruger effect is an example of this. confident and capable people feel less confident about their skills and assume certains goals are just unachievable for them. Such people, if they choose to fight the struggle with their internal timidity, they will learn the importance and skill of using one's self confidence to remove the self imposed problems in their life. No matter how much one listens about the importance of self confidence, it is only when one discovers its ability to overcome the problems in times of struggle, realizes it actual importance.

when we fight our limitations, we utilize everything that we have, be it physical or mental strength. But when the obstacles seem stronger than us, we realize that we lack something. it is at this moment, life tries to teach the most valuable lessons. it is only through quiet introspection that one can identify what one is lacking. Once it is identified, its a lesson that we won't forget for life. success creates a very happy image of us and the world around us. we are blinded by our joy and fail to see the things that are lacking in and around us. A valuable lesson is the one that tells us about what we lacked at the first place, and the wisdom isn't showered on the one who isn't looking.