Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

I strongly agree with the proposition that students need to take a variety of courses outside their own field of study to become a interdisciplinarary person. A contrary position would reflect a too narrow view of higher education and its proper objectives.

The primary reason why I agree with the proposition is that it is conducive to the cultivation of talents. The nowadays challenge is always outside the existing disciplines. Aspects of the challenge cannot be adressed easily with existing distributed knowledge. The nature of the challenge, either its scale or complexity, requires that many people have interactional expertise to improve their efficency to give a comprehensive solution to the challenge. For example in order to solve the problem of environmental pollution, it is not only considered from the perspective of environmental protection, but also involves a lot of economic and political knowledge. Nobody will shut down all the factories to stop the emission of harmful gases. Interdisciplinarary talents are in needed to strike a proper balance between enviornmental protection and economic prosperity.

It also has a lot of benefits for students' personal growth. “Truly educated” amounts to far more than excel in one’s field of study. True education also facilitates an understanding of one-self, and tolerance and respect for the viewpoints of others. Nowadays, the ability to communicate with people and solve problems have a great impact on career development. Many researchs have shown that the employees with poor emotional and social skills were being left out by their colleagues. Courses in psychology, sociology and anthropology all serve these end. "True" education also

provides insight and perspective regarding one's place in society and in the physical and metaphysical worlds. Courses in political science, philosophy, theology, and even sciences such as astronomy and physics can help a student gain this insight and perspective. Finally, no student can be truly educated without having gained an aesthetic appreciation of the world around us--through course work in literature, the fine arts, and the performing arts.

Admittedly, universities, as institutions of higher education, have the ability to achieve this measure. The university has authority to regulate the learning content of students, and the university has rich educational resources to provide a variety of professional courses. For example, many universities require students to take elective courses in other disciplines in addition to the study of their major, and make certain credit requirements. At the same time, the university has abundant teacher resources, which can provide students with corresponding consulting services to help students choose electives that are more helpful to them.

In the final analysis, to become truly educated one must acquire knowledge from all disciplines. Our society can make great progress from these interdisciplinary talents.They can promote the development of society and solve existing social problems. Aditionally, students can learn more knowledge and supplement it outside their professional field, thereby developing rich social skills and problem-solving abilities, and becoming more adaptable to the workplace. Moreover, universities are fully capable of making such requirements, providing students with rich teaching resources, and urging students to learn beyond their own professional knowledge.