Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study.

Courses containing various kinds of skills and aspects of knowledge indeed enable students in university to be more competitive in the increasingly fierce job market, but does the requirement that every student should attend those courses really matter? From my perspective, they are unnecessary. Only courses don’t suffice to generate a better opportunity, but the real ability of students to use knowledge should be improved in university.

Energy is limited for a student who has already had lots of classes. Extra courses may be a burden for them, and also students can be more exhausted so that they can’t concentrate themselves in necessary classes. Usually, a university requires a freshman or a sophomore to choose courses which include more than thirty credits in each semester, that is, a student needs to attend more than ten classes each week. Given the time spent in class and the homework assigned by each teacher, no student can safely claim that they can exactly enjoy themselves every day. Too many courses may deprive students of precious time, disperse concentrations, and even annoy students.

Besides, not every university has the ability to open so many various courses for students. For instance, in a highly specialized university which majors in technology, such as physics, engineering, philosophy and economics can be difficult to conduct considering the limited teachers. In addition, if no teacher is able to teach in a quite unfamiliar class like literature and history, then providing these courses for students cannot be achieved. If such courses are given, the reputation of the university may be undermined with more unimportant courses. What’s more, to take more courses may add up to the whole tuition fee for each student, students might resist paying more for the classes they think unnecessary and useless in the university.

Some people may hold that taking various courses offer students more opportunities in hunting a highly paid job. They attribute the success in finding a satisfactory job to the courses taken in university. And they take it for granted that courses outside the students’ major will guarantee the potential ability. However, a satisfying job requires all kinds of abilities other than what courses a student has chosen. Students will encounter difficulties after graduation, and they are supposed to strive to overcome them by themselves in society. Thus, courses might be not as useful as thought by those people. Moreover, a fact should be taken into consideration that even if a student attends such a class, no one can promise he or she will focus on the classes and master the knowledge well enough to proficiently utilize it. There is a great chance that the student might be distracted by the vapid subject or the unappealing topics.

To conclude, while taking a variety of courses may broaden students’ horizons, we should bear in mind the exact percent of knowledge got by each student in such courses and the necessities of providing such courses. For most, there is no need to take courses which are not included in one’s major courses.