Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author of the issue asserts that there should be an obligatory from universities for assigning the varied and irrelevant courses from students’ major field of study. This is the claim with which I generally do not concur. Among the countless rearing reasons for my perspective, I will delve into the most conspicuous ones in the following paragraphs.

The first striking point which should be considered is the sophistication of the current education. In contrast to the past knowledge which was based on the base and primary sciences such as mathematics, chemistry, or biology; modern education possesses a complicated scheme which requires a high consideration. In this stand, focusing on the courses outside the main course will be time and energy consumption by the students. Especially with the consideration of prediction of the future science which is done by the Education Department in the Tehran University the complicity of the knowledge in the upcoming ten years will be twice more sophisticated and precise than current science. Therefore, by asking the students for getting the courses which do not relevant to their major focus will be an endless job.

The other equal crux reason which should be considered is the short duration of education in the universities. If the period and required credits of undergraduate programs are considered for the evaluation, it will be lucidly released that the students do not have the sufficient time for allocated it for other courses beyond their main territory. In fact, during four years of the bachelor programs, students have to the fulfill 128 credits, by the consideration of average three credits for each course the undergraduate student has to pass approximate of forty-three courses, which is equal to close ten courses for each semester. By consideration, of the contents of these courses and short five-month semester duration, asking for focusing on the other courses is a wise action. At the graduate level, although the number of required credits is fewer than the undergraduate program; the requirement for the finishing the study which is a thesis for master and dissertation for Ph.D. programs asks for full concentration and effort. In this scenario, by pushing the graduate students for attending the unrelated classes, they will waste their time and energy.

Finally, the required criteria for employment also should be highlighted. In fact, the reason for the educated by the students is finding a job. In addition, the current demand list for employment by the organization is receiving the well-education. The term of well-education can be defined as the proliferate, updated, and sophisticated understanding from the issue. This understating is plausible by the sole consideration of the specified realm. On the other hand, opting the shallow understanding from the various issues do not fit with this requirement.

To wrap it up, all aforementioned reasons show that the requirement of the attending to other courses beyond the student’s major course is an ineffective task.