The statement here claims that universities should allow students to take different courses outsides the student's field of study. I completely agree with statement and following are the reasons that I think makes this statement valid.

Education is a way to make students gain knowledge pertaining to daily life along with what they intend to study. The goal of education is make an individual capable of understanding and analyzing everyday situations and handling situations of life. If the student is limited to study only specific topics then the essence of education is lost. For example a student of Science is supposed have soft skills that allow him to present his ideas in a more effective way. Thus a science student cannot limit his knowledge only to science, he should also know about finance, business, human nature etc. A medical student, along with having knowledge about medicine should also know on how to effectively communicate with his patients for proper treatment. If his communication is not comprehensible by his patients then his knowledge is of no much use. The most classic example would be that any individual irrespective of their field of study should be knowing of the society rules and laws. Any person who is aware of his rights and others rights, is an important member of the society. Such citizens are essential for the development of the society.

Though the students are at liberty to choose their field of study which basically interest them, there are possibilities that some students might not exactly know on what they are really interested in. When such students are provided with an opportunity to choose at a point when they are sure, helps them in achieving their actual goals. Such flexibility allows the students to get exposure to a variety of subjects and decide on their path.

The flexibility that the universities provide is beneficial to the overall development on the students. The student is aware of multiple topics, though not completely and has an opportunity to explore multiple disciplines. The overall development of the students makes him an aware member of the society.

Providing variety of courses is beneficial to the universities as well. Firstly they are contributing in creating responsible citizens of the society and such variety of courses attracts a lot many students, generating revenue to the universities.

Having said that variety of courses is beneficial, there are probabilities that the student might get confused so as what to choose. Here the university can help the student understand his interests and guide him to the appropriate direction.