Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sur

Some people agree that universities should give students opportunity to take a variety of courses outside of a student's major since it is beneficial to have wide perspectives. However, this requirement can become a burden to students academically and financially. The following essay will argue why that is the case.

Admittedly, after the famous talk by the former CEO of Apple, Steve Jobs, many people started to believe that learning different majors can help one to think about creative things. His education on calligraphy seemed irrelevant or useless for his career as a computer technician at that time, but years later, he developed the original font for the Macintosh based on his knowledge in calligraphy. However, maybe it was possible because he was 'Steve Jobs'. He was the great genius in his field and found and run the company of his own. If it was for ordinary students, who would become an employee whose work is limited to specific divisions, they might not need the education on various majors.

In contrast, it will give burden to students who are already suffering from assignments and projects. I would like to take my country situation as an example. With fewer jobs and higher qualifications, students are facing fierce competition from the college years to get a good GPA. This led students to spend more time at the library doing the assignment and preparing the study materials. Compared to our parents' generation, when university students can spend more time at leisure or sports, they are more stressed by the study. If all university requires all students to take more classes in other majors, it will be a burden, not the interesting process of learning. Thus, before enforcing the policy, discrete consideration on student's current academic burden is needed.

Moreover, the financial burden comes from the increased number of courses is another expected problem. The more courses beyond the major can make students enroll in more semesters and pay the tuition fee for a longer time. Some students with wealthy background do not have to worry about the tuition fee, but there are many students who are suffering from high tuition fee that they do the part-time job and even skip the meals. Considering that the tuition fee is tremendously high that many graduates are still in debt for many years after graduation, the more education is not desirable.

To sum up, the requirement for students to take diverse majors should be reconsidered since it can result in academic and financial burdens.