Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sur

The speaker asserts that universities should require all students to go over various extracurricular courses. While I find this claim paradoxical on its face, the paradox is explainable, and the explanation is well supported empirically. Nevertheless, the claim is an unfair generalization in that it fails to account for other empirical evidence serving to discredit it.

A threshold problem with the speaker’s claim is that its internal logic in questionable. At first impression it would seem that experiencing diverse off-major courses from one’s own field of study is better to broaden one’s perspective and prevent it from being parochial, yet some may not be preoccupied in such courses. For example, art student who is not fond of physics may suffer from solving difficult calculations. In worse, he will feel isolated as he is an outsider from that field and face difficulties getting help from the major’s students. It might be more time-consuming and suffer lack of confidence.

However, taking off-major courses might provide you brilliant research ideas or enhance one’s resourcefulness when situated in unexpected situations. University is not a place just to study your major but to cultivate one’s sense of value and address crucial national agendas with innovative thinkings. Confining the universities’ role into one major is specious to represent oneself as an asset of driving their society to a better one. Experiencing various courses outside could fulfill one’s potential of real intellectuals.

Lending credence to this explanation for the paradoxical nature of the speaker’s claim is the fact that advantages of such courses is persistently conducive to student's own major studies. However, this is convincible only in particular fields that is relative to one’s own major. Irrelevant major courses might be unexpectedly time-consuming and its outcomes may be incomparable with those done by the same major students who devoted themselves to advanced researches. The problem is that professors or university faculties are likely to provide more advantageous opportunities to the latter ones since they are more seemingly promising students. Even if students go through extracurricular activities to gain open-wided perspective, believing it conducive to their future studies, their efforts and outcomes are imperceptible to others. Thus, if wishing to be conspicuous in their field of study, going through various off-major courses may not be a good choice.

In sum, while at first glance taking various courses outside of one’s field of study would seem exclusive, it appears they are not. Though the speaker’s claim has some merit, it seems too hasty to require university students such policy due to uncertainty of fulfilling expectations after completing their courses. Therefore, the correctness of the speaker’s assertions must be determined on a case-by-case basis.