Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Universities, since their inception, have played an important role in the human pursuit of education. Universities foster many great minds even today. They are a place of learning for today's brightest of minds. A policy which requires students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying essentially restricts free learning.

Firstly, being certain about which courses to take and which courses will be beneficial for a career in a particular field is very rare. Not everyone is sorted enough to be sure. Some students may want to explore their options or even find out their calling and interests by taking course across fields. Putting a mandate on the choice of courses a student takes thus will create obstacles for this class of students.

Secondly, even if a student is sure about his/her interests, this restriction will cause the knowledge to be disstributed in silos of scholars which consequently will lead to difficulty in collaborations across fields. History is proof to show that significant breakthroughs happen when there are no bounds on lateral knowledge sharing. It only makes sense given the diverse and overwhelmingly complex nature of problem that we face as a people.

Lastly, there are students who have interests in multiple and sometimes diverse fields. Double majors are not uncommon today. Social sciences and Economics, Finance and Computer Science, Statistics and Technology are just a few examples of different fields which have provided value when studied together. If implemented, the said policy will rob us of the smart and industrious students with double majors.

Therefore the policy to make Universities require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying will not benefit the students or us as a society. It will negatively disrupt the smoothly working, with flaws of course, policy that is in place today.