Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

The statement asserts that, universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying, while that assertion seems logical from normative standpoints, however, in deeper analysis, I find the satement indefensible. Below I will discuss the reasons of my stance.

Universities are the final playground of knowledge for most of the students as they are pursuing higher education. What a student learns in his university life, will be the major determinent for his success in the professional life. It seems obvious that, when a student in forced to learn something against his interest, it does not bring the perfect benefit. But we can not deny the fact that, to be an well rounded individual in any specific field, it is not possible to learn only a selective few, according to student's wish. For example, a student wants to be an architecture and he loves to draw and he is really good at it but at the same time he does not loves mathematics. So, if the student only takes the courses of drawing in his whole engineering life, avoid all the math courses, it will not bring any good. At the end of his graduation, he will be an artist rather than an architecture. My point here is that, to be an well rounded professional in any field, students need to take courses which they may not like, but are essential to get the insight of the whole package.

On the other hand, we can not deny the fact that, motivation is the driving force to succeed in life. Motivation comes from doing the things, one loves to do. So, one may contend that, students will not get the benefit of studying subjects they do not like. Yes, that is true and that is why we should minimize the number of irrelevent subjects being taught to a student for in a certain discipline. It is true that, students need to take sociology courses when he is a student of mechanical engineering department. In the first glance, that may seem irrelevant and the students most of the time do not find it interesting, but to be an engineer, one should know how the society works, how human psychology works. So, we can not outright reject the viability of a subject depending on the students choice.

Finally, we can not allow it for the students to take the courses they are interested only as to be an perfect professional we need to study different subjects we may not feel interest in. But, subjects irrelevent to the main course and students find unattractive should be expurgated.