Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

University's policy as to what courses students should take is an implicated and complicated issue. I disagree with the idea that universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying. However, I also understand the merit of concentrated study on fields students are especially interested in. In this essay, I'd like to present my idea with several examples.

First and foremostly, it is quite common that studying fields that initially seem unrelated to students' majors are in fact beneficial to understanding the field that students are mainly interested in. For example, computer science and biology seem not related to each other at first sight, but actually many facts and knowledge in the field of computer science is applicable to biology, thus learning biology is conducive for computer students and can broaden their career and vice versa. In this way, if universities took the policy, then even if it is not obvious, university students can find connections between their majors and other fields, resulting in deeper understanding of both two fields. Therefore I'd like to argue that student's study should not be limited within fields they are interested in.

Another reason for my claim of diversified study of university students is with the world of globalization and technical and scientific advances, it is crucial students for students to have a wide range of knowledge. In detail, for natural science students, it is crucial for them to acquire the basic knowledge of foreign languages, and communication skills, because they'll frequently communicate with foreign researchers and students in this highly globalized world, and for social science students, they'll also have a fundamental understanding of math and science to keep up with the world of rapid technological advancement. In this way, a diversified study will benefit students regardless of their main major.

Having said that I also understand the merit of requiring students to take courses only within those fields they are interested because if student concentrated their time and effort on fields that they are interested in, it is likely that they absorb the knowledge of their major faster, and thus become competitive researchers earlier compared to those who have wide curriculum. I'd like to propose that students choose between a comprehensive curriculum that ranges over many fields and an intensive curriculum that require students to take courses only within their major because some students who wish academic career and want to begin to engage themselves in researching faster while other want to seek other careers.

To recapitulate my ideas, for the aforementioned ideas, I basically favor the policy of late specialization, however concentrated study also has advantages, therefore I would suggest giving students the right to opt from them.