University should require every student to take variety of courses outside the student’s field of study

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons/ r examples that could be used to change your position.

A good and renowned university must provide number of courses relating to the subject that a student has enrolled, but providing a variety of courses outside the student's field of study is totally a different analogy, the chances of the off-subject courses can be useful and beneficial is fairly less compared to that of a subject related course. The whole idea of improving the students knowledge and opening young minds to a broader perspective can be good way to build an overall quality of education delivered by the university but it may not help in building a student's carrier which is what each and every student needs the most.

Including a new subject to students syllabus means compromising the existing subject; this existing subject might be a core subject which plays a vital role in building the students carrier, students would prefer core subject over the off-subject courses as subject related courses will be of more importance to them. If the same off-subject courses are added to the syllabus as an inclusive of the existing subject it may increase the working hours of the university, this makes the students unhappy as they should make alternate adjustments or so.

Courses outside the student's field of study should be a useful one, useful in a way that the student can relate his courses. For instance, an engineering student can be introduced to biotechnology and business management courses whereas pure biology and history would be a not so useful course. The additional subject which is irrelevant to student�s field of study will be a total waste of time for both the student and the university. This whole process of non- subject courses addition can be debatable for a top notch institution as students prefer quality of education but will it be useful for all universities across the globe as receiving a college degree might be the goal for some. For example, Ivy league can offer as many courses as they want and the students who study there can be in a position to handle such courses but that does not apply the same for universities in under developed countries like guinea, Madagascar, Afghanistan as students mentality change in global scale, as few prefer quality education and some prefect education first.

Introduction of new off-subject topic will lead to increased processing time of the students as new subject would require more effort and understanding over the other courses. This can be taken either way, but as student's spend more time on new topic they tend to lose interest in subject related courses and their grade might reduce, and in other cases student's might get interested about the subject and start digging deeper in that particular subject which is not even related the courses that they have enrolled.

Its always good have a profound a profound knowledge on a widespread topics, as it proves your superiority of the overall understanding and more over by leaning new topics, it can lead to new creativity and students get to see both their and subject perspective. Even with all this benefits students should not be forced to enroll any non subject related courses it should be their choice to choose their own subjects which will be more relevant and more useful for the student's future. This additional courses should be kept as an elective and let the students choose according to their priority, in this way students might be interested as not every student is the same. By choosing they will be more curious to learn the topic than before.