Using a smartphone before bed worsens sleep quality

There is no denying that the 21st century is the century of handheld devices, with billions of devices already in use and another billion ready for selling. These devices have revolutionized the world in many ways - basically, one person can have his entire world in his hand, in a "smartphone." One can call, chat, email, play games, make a schedule, get news from the other side of the world in a matter of seconds now.

However, the devices don't come without their perils. Smartphones contain a screen (display), which is the interface for a user to interact with these devices. This screen comes in various sizes, ranging from 4" - 7" (roughly). These screens employ one of the techniques like LCD or LED or OLED. (Discussion about these technologies themselves is irrelevant to this essay) . All of these screens emit blue light, which has some proven harmful effects.

First and foremost, many studies have confirmed that blue light worsens sleep quality. The simple reason for this is that our eyes are not designed to accept significant quantities of blue light. In a natural environment, our eyes are most familiar with a yellow-brownish tint during the day and no natural light during the night. However, smartphones are causing our eyes to encounter a large amount of blue light (especially at night), which in turn worsens sleep quality.

One possible solution to this issue is using blue light filters in mobiles. These are applications that overlay the screen with a brown filter, thus giving our eyes a more relaxing experience. However, this comes at the cost of reduced customer experience, as with a blue light filter, colors don't appear as radiating as they are originally designed to be.

The other solution is to design the apps with a dark background and a bright foreground. Black pixels on any screen don't emit blue light, thus solving the problem at its base. Further, user experience is not compromised as the app is designed, keeping in mind a "dark mode," which provides a better experience for the eyes.

To conclude, it's appropriate to say that with some relevant measures, we can overcome the harmful impact that smartphones are having on our sleep.