The value of works of art, whether they are literature, music, sculpture, or film depends on how many people understand them.

For evaluating any form of art or to acknowledge the value a art brings in the form of social, economical, environmental or political benefits, a person needs to understand it. The more the number of people understand or appreciate a art, more is its popularity and value.

The social impact by an optimistic literature or movie can be seen when people understand them properly and inculcate the thought presented by them. The more number of people understanding the work of arts, larger is the impact and value of the art. Books written by Sherlock Holmes help people to improve their thinking ability and observe the things to gain insights regarding a situation. By understanding the detective stories written by Holmes, improved thinking ability and observation are the benefits seen in the people, leading to awareness in society.

A popular form of art is valued and leads to economical benefits for the artist. In the field of music, if a song is liked be many people it becomes popular and the singer of the song starts gaining fame and popularity. Therefore, the singer starts getting lot of opportunities, his art is being valued and he gets monetary rewards as well.

A well known sculpture, known by mass is valued by many people across regions. The statue of Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel is a world famous art in state of Gujarat, India. As the people world wide understand the importance of this sculpture, it gains world wide recognition and praise.

The valuation of work of art majorly depends on understanding the art in terms of impact it brings in various fields. If a form of art is not understood by many people, its scope would be limited and it won't be able to bring the value it possesses.