variety of courses

Whether universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student field of study? The speaker maintains so. I concede that, in some situation, students educated with knowledge in several field are more competitive. But exceeding aspects of study are also harmful to students. Therefore, an all-side consideration is needed when deciding the precedence.

If students with strong curiosity are full of innovative ideas and would like to learn more about the world, there is no reason the universities do not offer them the opportunities of further-learning. Most students in colleges have not decide which area they will devote themselves to in the future, so future is full of indeterminacy for them. At this time, the universities, if possible, should try their best to make more kinds of courses accessible to students, therefore, students would have the chance to learn more, to experience more, so that they will have a better understanding of a lot field which helps them find what they really want.

However, not every student has the ability to learn whatever they want. Some of them are still suffering about their own field of study! What these students need is professional help of their own field. Otherwise they may be tired of study and finally give up. Therefore, if universities force these students to learn more than their field, the final result will be disappointing, since the students will be good at none field.

On the contrary, some students have the ability to learn more, but what their do want to learn is not in the university. Some students are planning to start their own business after graduation, instead of getting further education. For these students, a training of founding one's own company is better than any kinds of courses, since to develop an entrepreneurship is more crucial than knowing what is polymer crystal. Some of them even start to run a company while attending school, so them have little time to pick another field to study. Besides, how about the students who prefer learning from their self-reading or traveling around the world? There is no doubt that push them to the classroom is harmful to these students.

In sum, when deciding whether their students need other field of study, university should consider the situation and the plan of specific students. Otherwise, it will be just wasting of time and money.