"We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share

than from people whose views contradict our own; disagreement

can cause stress and inhibit learning."

Learning is a complex process. It is not a simple assimilation of information. It's more like a tortuous process of exposure, reception, filtering, judging, weighing and accepting. Anything too extreme- believing anything or rejecting every other viewseriously hamper the process of learning. So it doesn't depend mainly on people from whom one learns, irrespective of whether that person shares the same view or not, rather it depends on the person who is learning. With good sense of judgement, one can learn and actually perfect his or her view from both the people who hold the same belief, and the people who don't.

Obviously, each human being has own ideas and perspectives about life and his or her surroundings. The understandings of these things- life, society, politics, science vary from person to person. But in most of the cases, one person's views and understandings can not be ruled out as completely wrong and some other person's view can't be labeled as the right one. No idea is absolute or irrefutable. Two opinions about the same thing can seem contradictory or paradoxical, but both of them can be right at the same time. When people are exposed to these various other ideas other than their own ones, they can judge and weigh them and can learn about different aspects of the same notion. An insular knowledge about something is often a catalyst for forming inchoate opinions. As stated earlier, two seemingly opposite ideas can be true simulteneously. For example, now scientists agree that, electrons can exhibit behavior both as matter and as energy. Now, if scientists who believed electrons are actually particles didn't want to conceive the idea of those scientists who believed electrons to be energy, this amazing discovery about the dual nature of electrons would not have been possible.

Some might argue that diagreements can cause stress and inhibit learning. This is not necessrily true. When argument and diagreement occur in a civic manner, with open minds, it rather halps the learning process. Constructive debates are actually necessary for learning. On the other hand, being an ardent and impregnable supporter of one's own cause can severely thwart the process of learning. History teaches us that, progressive societies thrived and lasted much longer than societies that were unable or unwilling to change their own beliefs and customs. For instance, the mighty Egyptian empire had to fall because they were too proud of their own beliefs and social norms. They didn't cope up with the changing times. Same happened to once ever-burgeoning Muslim and Mongolian empire. They didn't cope up with changing values and inventions of time, but the Europeans could. So the world saw a shift of power from East to West in the middle part of the last millenium.

It can be said that, disagreements often cause stress and enmity. But the thing here is, in this modern world, no one is forced to believe anything blindly. In this era of globalization and internet, anyone can test and try any theory out there. If someone says anything that goes against one's long held belief, he or she can easily verify and judge the new theory and accept or reject it partially or fully according to his or her understanding.

So, it can be said that, we learn when we keep our minds open. We learn, when we don't believe anything and everything readily or reject anything new that goes against our own knowledge. As long as we judge things from an unbiased point of view, we can learn from people who share the same views, and also from people who do not agree with our views