We learn the most valuable lessons in life from struggling with our limitations rather than from enjoying our successes.

Life is full of non-obvious decisions, and every time such a decision arises, we can either make the right call or the wrong one. The prompt argues that when we make a wrong decision, we learn a more valuable lesson than when we make the right one. I strongly agree with the prompt for two reasons.

To begin with, when we make a wrong decision and start struggling with our limitations, we learn a lot more about what these limitations are and how valuable would it be to avoid them. Take, for example, two people: the first person got a college diploma and the second one started to work after high school. The person who didn't finish college has significantly fewer job opportunities. She constantly struggles with limitations such as missing knowledge or strict job requirements. So she can learn a valuable lesson about the skills she should obtain and gain a perspective on which university degree she needs to pursue. The other person, the one who got a college degree, would have more success in finding a good job, but the only lesson she can learn from that experience is that her decision to go to college was correct. When you face limitations, you can learn how to avoid them in the future, which is very useful. However, when you make the right decision and enjoy your success, you only learn that your decision was correct, but you may not be able to apply this knowledge in the future.

Furthermore, people can derive more general rules from their losses than from their gains. For instance, if someone invested their money in bitcoin when its price was low, and then sold it after the price has raised, this person can only learn that some investments can result in high gain. Yet she would not be able to tell with certainty if any given asset would be profitable or not. But there may be another person who invested most of their money into some other cryptocurrency and lost most of the investment. This person will hopefully learn an important lesson: some assets are risky. Thus you should not put all of your savings into a single box, you should diversify. This is a general rule, that can be applied to any further investments this person would make.

Some people would say that learning from success is more valuable because you learn exactly what you should do to succeed, and when you learn from your failures you only learn what you shouldn't do. But I believe that this is not true in most real-life scenarios. Life is complex, and most of the time you just can't replicate your success because you can't repeat your actions with the same result: you can't go to college twice in the same field and gain twice as much knowledge and you can't go back in time to invest more money in bitcoin when it was cheap. Thus, in my opinion, struggling with limitations provides us with more valuable lessons.