The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and s

The evolving in the quality of life within a society is a matter that everybody should be concerned about. To challenge the relations of power stablished within a nation might be seen as a way to improve the welfare of a society since it’s a way to question an abusive and unfair authority.

One may say that it’s dangerous to try to change things trough questioning authority. The hierarchy of power is stablished to protect all of us and try to challenge it might imperil the members that belong to a certain group. In this sense, there is a narrative that states people should try to evolve within society without making disturbances in it basis. Hobbs, the famous political philosopher, stated in his “Leviathan” that without authority one person could not protect himself from other’s man unjust ambitious which creates a necessity to be respectful towards stablished authorities.

However, there is a classic question, which is: “Who control the vigilantes?”. If there is an authority that is abusive and unfair should we respect it just because there is a hierarchy stating that we should do it? Sometimes in order to have an improvement in quality of life it’s necessary to discuss and question these authorities. Take the example of the French Revolution. While the outcomes of this political event resulted in a series of violent riots, French people started to question the authority of the Absolutist Monarchy which lived a luxury life while the people was starving and paying high taxes. This process of questioning authority allowed the French people to change the political system of the country which resulted in some important changes. One of them was the creation of a public educational system that allowed poor children to go to school.

A more contemporary example is the movement called “Black Lives Matter” from the United States. This movement started to challenge government and police authorities toward episodes of racism and brutal violence against black people. This raised a profound discussion within society and many considers that this political movement was extremely necessary in order to try to have a better well-being for black people in this country considering they in general suffers a lot with racism and violence from the ones who should provide and offer support for them.

In conclusion, one may see that is important sometimes to question stablished authorities with the objective to improve the well-being in a certain group. Sometimes an authority presents deviations that should be changed and instead of offer support and freedom it might be abusive and violent. In this sense, an improvement in quality of life would come only be questioning this authority.