What is more important for a student, academics or human values. The argument states here that all students should also take up one course in ethics even if it means a decreased emphasis on academic subjects. I disagree to this statement, as there is no need to concentrate on one at the expense of the other.

Moral being is a subject that one learns gradually over the years through his/her surroundings and at home. Ethics are an attribute that we can inculcate by observing other human behavior surrounding us. A course in ethics can only provide you a theoretical aspect of the subject matter, but ethics is something which is developed through our day to day experience. It is something that we learn through our actions and their consequences.

The implementation of such a subject can only be possible in our lives if we have the understanding of differentiating between what is right and what is wrong. Ethically sound individuals know the right and what doing right implies for the society and the field that they apply if to. It comes as an intrinsic nature of human beings. People willing to work and contribute to a non-profit organization would not need a sermon that can develop in them this behavior. They are well sorted in their justification and willingness to take up and work with such affiliations.

However, ethics should be taught to the students to emphasize to then the need to make the right choice or the right decision. They should be made aware of what consequences a wrong decision can make and how it can impact their social well-being. Such courses help a student in knowing what basic courses can apply to which situations. These questions come up in all fields of work and are not just limited to a few. But knowing and willing to implement is at the end of the day dependent on the individuals will. The course may just be a task for him intended to complete and gain the credit points necessary for him to successfully complete a curriculum.

The importance of growing up human being moral and ethically sound is no doubt paramount. But learning the nuances of it through a mandatory course makes it an obligation for the individual. Curriculum should be so defined that the academic subjects taught should instill the need of morality of their actions and judjements long with the courses. Defining a separate suject would only lead to mere formality of completing a course and gaining the desired credit points.