What most human beings really want to attain is not knowledge, but certainty. Gaining real knowledge requires taking risks and keeping the mind open but most people prefer to be reassured rather than to learn the complex and often unsettling truth about anything.

It would not be right to say that all human beings do not want to gain knowledge but just certainty. Everyone wants certainty in life. If most human beings don't want to attain knowledge than there will be no new development and research. It it true that to learn something new requires one to take risk.

Historically, we have many examples where people have taken many risk to learn some new things or to show new principles. For example Gallelio first discovered that earth is round not flat which was against the traditional belief of people at that time. He took risk and published his theory.

Same can also be said for research of atomic energy. Although, there is risk of misuse of atomic energy by some rogue elements but benefits of this research outweigh risks.

If scientist wants to get new knowledge, findings it requires him/her to perform experiments which is like two-sided coin with success on one side and failure on other side. If scientist will stop performing experiments in fear of failure than how will he able to know new things? In business sometimes you have to make tough decisions in short you have to take risk to compete in market or to know trend in market. It is true that some systems are tough to understand but that is what it makes them special and attract many people.

We all know NASA, an american space agency takes risk of billions of dollars money and human lives to know new facts about our universe and its origin. It requires tons of money, human brain and courage to carry out each mission. If they will fear of accidents and loss of money or human lives than how we will be able to know about space? It takes immense efforts and significant risk to meet new result rather settling with same result is without any attempt is much easier.

Hence, to learn something new we have to get out of our comfort zone and should try whatever possible without caring too much about failures or risks involved. The positive attitude is necessary that we will never settle with this we want to learn more and for that we should not think much about small risks involved.