The world.

Most important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

many of the most incredible discoveries in the world came about when someone find something they are no seeking for. I therefore personally believe that many of the most important discoveries are accidental. however, the author overstates the role of accidental discoveries when it comes to the modern day discoveries and creations. it cannot be ignored that some of the great scientific discoveries come out only after years of painstaking goal oriented lab works and experiments.

history is replete with many great discoveries happened in the past while people were searching for the answer of something and inadvertently came with the answer of some other things they are not seeking for. these unintended discoveries later came out to be one of the incredible discoveries in the human history. For instance, viagra was discovered unintentionally when Pfizer tried to find the medicine for hypertension and angina pectoris. viagra is globally used as a medicine for erectile dysfunction and has helped maintain happy conjugal life of millions of people worldwide. similarly, Quinine is one of the most serendipitous medical discoveries which was discovered when one of the Indian- lost in Andean jungle, thirsty and suffering from high fever- drank the stagnant water from the quina-quina tree. after that, his fever abated abruptly and the discovery of anti-malarial drug-quinine- happened fortuitously. further, penicillin was also discovered unintentionally by Fleming, which was used widely as an anti-bacterial medicine during Second world War, and is still used as antibiotics for any bacterial infection. these are some of the examples of accidental discoveries in the field of medicine, which clearly shows that many of the most incredible discoveries happened accidentally.

similarly, X-ray was also discovered unwittingly when Wilhelm Roentgen was working with cathode ray tubes in his lab while observing fluorescence glow at different voltages. In modern days, X-ray is used worldwide in hospitals to observe the conditions of fractured bones, dislocation of joints etc before carrying out treatment. similarly, the discovery of radioactivity is also a fortunate happenstance which has changed the face of medical field. radioactivity is used in the treatment of different diseases such as tumor, cancers, thyroids etc. radioactivity is also used to locate the positions, size and movements of different internal body parts. further, the discovery of insulin, Teflon, and microwave were also fortuitous. thus, we can conclude that many of the most important discoveries happened accidentally.

however, on the other hand, history witnessed numerous inventions and discoveries which came about after years of painstaking goal oriented lab works and experiments. For instance, the discovery of airbus became possible only after the years of painstaking works by Wright brothers. similarly, Thomas Alva Edison discovered electric bulb only after his deliberate working for years. he failed almost 1000 times of his experimentation, but finally became successful in discovery such bulb. further, the laws of electromagnetic induction was discovered by Michael Faraday only after performing arduous lab work. because of these laws we are now able to avail the advantages of different electric devices such as water pump, generators, fans, dynamos, transformers and so on. similarly there are numerous groundbreaking scientific theories- such as the theory of relativity, string theory, big-bang theory etc-which were developed only after years of hard work and research. thus, many of the important theories can occur because of the results of years of painstaking lab works and experiments.

In sum, I agree with the term that many of the most successful discoveries happen serendipitously when someone finds something for which he is not seeking for. however, the role of years of painstaking works and research of people in making many important discoveries and invention cannot be ignored.