"Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Today's youth is fascinated with fame and power. The culture of easy fame and easy money is widespread. With the advancement in communications, this lifestyle is being spread like wildfire. The life of a few people who have made a sustainable living because of instant fame is peanuts compared to the people who have worked tirelessly to achieve their goals. Hence, I believe that young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term realistic goals rather than waste their life over gaining instant stardom.

Young minds are impressionable. Their opinions are mercurial and their thoughts aimless. When you aim for instant success, there is no backup plan. For example, many people took to the popular social app 'Vine'. Many people were instantly famous. But when 'Vine' shut down, they had no other means of income. Some managed to transition into other popular social media platforms but the majority fell through the cracks. They lost their livelihood and had to work menial jobs. Generally, young people don't know what to do. They don't understand what is good and what is bad.

When one makes a long-term goal, he carefully plans his life leading up to that goal. He thinks about the contingencies and plans for them. He always has backup plans when the original one falters. For example, basketball Hall of Famer Tim Duncan declared for the NBA draft after his college was complete. Many scouts and teams begged him to declare earlier but he was adamant. He made college his backup plan in case his stint at the NBA failed. Another example is the average student aiming for postgraduation or doctorate. There is a laid-out plan and contingencies should a part of the plan fail.

There are no regrets when a well thought out plan fails. You get on with it knowing that you gave it all.

Following a long-term plan is not a sure shot path to success. The Kardashians managed to turn their immediate fame into a billion-dollar empire. Sometimes, instant fame is as important as a well laid out plan. The TV show 'Voice' gave many people a jumpstart to their musical career. Other shows like 'America's Got Talent' helped bring unhoned talent out in the open. The fame gave many people an advantage and they managed to convert it into long term sustainable goals.

In conclusion, today's culture promotes instant fame over long term diligence. But we must teach young people of the flaws in that approach and protect them from the negative impact. We need to support and stimulate children in pursuing long term goals over gaining instant fame and recognition.