Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In a world, where earning more money and fame has become many people’s goals, lots of young people pursue immediate fame and recognition in order to gain the reputation or make money. Thus, some people say that young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition. Despite this claim seems to be reasonable, I still cannot fully agree with this recommendation.

To begin with, I have to agree that young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals. This is because people are more likely to be successful if they go for it step by step. More specifically, if young people who don’t have good grades always dream to be admitted to the Harvard University, they will be hindered by these unrealistic goals because they will be disappointed every time they fail the exam and may give up eventually. Therefore, they should be encouraged to have long-term, more realistic goals. For instance, they should at first increase their grades from D to A gradually and then they could have the chances to be admitted by their dream schools. Thus, under this circumstance, being encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals will help young people have good foundations, which can be used to achieve bigger goals.

I also agree that pursuing the immediate fame and recognition may be not beneficial for the development of the young and may harm the people they love. At first, it is very hard for people to earn the immediate fame and recognition. Thus, some young people will do some outrageous things in order to earn them. For example, a TicToker wanted to attract more people to view his videos. He started to shoot some videos, in which he mimicked the dangerous postures, such as throwing his daughter. In his last video, he threw his daughter again and failed to catch her. His daughter got the prognosis from the doctor that she may not be able to walk in the future. Therefore, some young people who are irrational may do everything just to pursue the fame and recognition. Under this circumstance, the recommendation is advantageous.

However, immediate fame and recognition may be good things sometimes. Not all young people are irrational and they want to get the immediate fame and recognition because they have long-term goals, which can be achieved when they have fame and recognition. At the same time, they spare no effort to make improvements in order to be famous and recognized. For instance, Billie Eilish has dreamed to become a singer as she likes Justin Bieber. However, without the fame and recognition, she cannot even get her songs heard by the public. Therefore, she created songs, recorded them and uploaded them to YouTube. One day her songs were found by Justin, who at last requested to cooperate with her. She earned the immediate fame and recognition and becomes a singer. Thus, some young people get immediate fame and recognition because of their long-time efforts on their goals. In this case, young people shouldn’t be discouraged and the recommendation will be undermined.

By and large, encouraging the young to have long-term, realistic goals is always correct, from my perspective, and yet the ways to get the immediate fame and recognition are different. If people want to get them through their own long-term efforts, it is unreasonable to discourage them. However, if they do outrageous things, like the young father mentioned before, they should be discouraged or even blamed. Therefore, the recommendation, in my viewpoint, is partly advantageous for people who take it.