Appearance isn't everything. Discuss.

For generations, it has been a point of discussion that the most important part of an individual’s personality is his or her looks. However, in my opinion, a person’s appearance is not the only thing that matters. Every individual’s personality is defined by multiple characteristics.

Almost twenty years back a junior artist stepped into the India film industry through a documentary film. He had an ambition of ruling the Indian entertainment industry some day. Audience was very certain that this newcomer would soon fade away, as he did not possess any of the good looking traits that a film-star must have. However, his hard work and his deft art of acting took him to the top. He has been ruling Bollywood since a decade and is nick named as ‘King Khan – The King of Bollywood’.

To give another example, Sachin Tendulkar has been another personality who has achieved so much in Cricket despite his physical appearance being that of a non-sporting individual. In general perception, in sports, it is considered that it is extremely difficult to compete on international level if a sportsman is no well built. Nevertheless, Sachin Tendulkar has proved this theory to be completely incorrect. Even having a short and thin body structure did not stop him to reach to the pinnacle of Cricket.

Lastly, Adolf Hitler is a universally known example of a person who almost conquered half of the world on the basis of his leadership and convincing power. People just wonder how a short and comic-faced individual could have ruled multiple countries in such an authoritative manner.

To conclude, I would say that although an individual’s looks and physical appearance play a vital role in his or her success, but it is not the only thing that helps individuals in achieving their goals. The examples quoted above certainly proves the point that many other personality traits are also necessary for success and appearance is not the only thing that matters.