In spite of many advance women have made in education and employment, they continue to be at a disadvantage when it comes to pay and promotion. In your view, what should be done to promote equality of opportunity for men and women in the workplace?

In many parts of the world, women have raised to a much more participative role, thanks to the education. However, women still lag behind in terms of remuneration and promotion in workplaces.

Some would argue that women have already achieved what they were capable of. However, in my opinion, they still have to raise to their potentials. Various measures can be adopted to solve the problem of inequality between men and women in terms of pay and promotion.

One possible approach would be for governments to provide quotas in education as well as jobs. This would encourage women to put in efforts to achieve more as they would have higher targets to attain. For example, after Indian government provided reservations to women, two decades ago, Indian women have performed brilliantly in many fields. Today, half of the topmost banks in India have women as their chief Executive Officer.

Another possible solution would be to for corporates to provide enhanced flexibility and benefits to women. Companies should provide flexible working hours or facility to work from home to pregnant or lactating women. This step would ensure that women with high potential do not have to take a break in their flourishing career. For example, a top Indian I.T. company has over hundred thousand women employees, which is way high as compared to its peers. All thanks to company’s women friendly policies.

It is true that there still prevails gender inequality in workplaces. However, if appropriate measures are taken to encourage women, in near future women are surely going to prove their potential and would be treated at par with the opposite gender.