College students should give priority to practical courses over traditional ones. Do you agree or disagree?

Facing the increasingly intensive competition in the job market, some student begins to give priority to the practical knowledge rather than the theoretical course. Whether practical course should be list on the top of the curriculum sparked heat discussion. In those never-ending debate about the importance of the practical course, those who favor the practical course harbor the view that traditional course are less important nowadays. However, from my standpoint, this seems to be an over-general view and I would like to further illustrate my view from the following perspectives.

First and foremost, the most useful know-how knowledge is accumulated during the real working experience, rather than being taught in the classroom. To be more specifically, one cannot gain the practical knowledge without practice. It would be absurd if a student want to be practically qualified in a theoretical way. Therefore, placing the practical courses above the traditional ones would get the priority mixed up.

In addition, traditional courses lay down the foundation for the practical knowledge. A solid theoretical accumulation is a prerequisite to better practice the skill. It is common sense that a well built foundation is crucial for the latter construction. That also applies to the process of knowledge acquisition. An example in point is that a doctor has to know the medical knowledge before he learning how to write a prescription. Therefore, the traditional course equipping the students with the core and essential knowledge should never be neglected.

However, that is not to say that practical courses are of no use in university. Certainly, the know-how knowledge has a role to play in the later working experience. Besides, training student with the practical knowledge is a required to bridge the gap between the ivory tower and the realist workplace. But still, it is a huge mistake to prioritize the practical courses over the traditional courses.

In short, traditional teaching should still be the most important curriculum in college not only because it is the right function of the university but also it is the foundation for the practical knowledge. But it is also important to bear in mind that comprehensive study of both theoretical and practical knowledge is the best way.