There has been considerable debate about the necessity of freedom of speech in a free modern society. While some would object that total freedom of speech could be problematic in order to protect the government action from ideological opponents that could fabricate false scandals to interrupt their work, it is my belief that free speech is a fundamental right of mankind. The reason is that only through free speech the will of the people can be unveiled and oppression or injustice can be fought.

Freedom of speech is one of the most important elements of modern free societies. In fact, it represents the only way governments and ruling class in general can understand the will and the needs of the population. It is not surprising that in recent years, while global communication networks were becoming as invasive in our lives as they are today, world leaders became more and more interested in exploiting these media to get in direct contact with their electors and try to translate their demands into their political programs. One famous example is the fundraising campaign of today's US president Obama during his first campaign for presidency.

On the other side, freedom of speech is also an important way by which victims of oppression and injustice can claim their rights. This aspect is certainly the most troublesome for the ruling class and it's probably the reason why many countries decide to deny free communication. However, being free to report abuses is the first step for a population to demand a change in how things are ruled in their country.

In conclusion, I believe that people should be let free to express their opinions, to discuss about the problems of the community they live in and to report cases of injustice, because this is the only way our society can pursue progress and wealth.