Traffic and pollution is increasing day by day in many countries. This poses a challenge on the economic growth of a nation. Therefore, it is important to control this growing problem. One of the alternate could be to increase the price of petrol. However, that may not be sufficient.

These days, many people drive in their own veichle to their workplace. As a result, when many people travel in same hours, roads become conjusted. One of the prime reasons, people prefer to drive by themselves is that they find it comfortable and convient than other modes of transportation. To avoid this, if price of petrol increases, there is a high possibility that people who fall in middle income group may consider alternate modes of travelling.

Doing so, might not be sufficient as as some people may not want to take pain of using public transportation system. Most importantly, increase in price will not impact those people who use other fuels like petrol or controlled natural gas.

In addition to increasing the price of petrol, certain other measures can be taken. By educating people about the negative impact of traffic on socio economic growth of country and side-effects of pollution on health of humans. By improving public transportation system in cities that have poor or inefficient quality of public transportation.

To sum up, I believe problem of traffic and pollution can not be solved just by incresing the price of petrol or by improving the public transportation system. I suggest that concerned authorities should analyse the causes of this problem in detail as one solution may not fit all.