Due to the rise in the financial demands of the family and the gradual increase of women work force opting to continue their career after children in order to catch up with their passion, it has become much unavoidable to have both the parents going to work.

Working parents has changed life style of the family in a variety of ways. The main problem is the childcare, which is being mostly outsourced to grandparents or babysitters in the recent days. Parents are working harder and longer and have less time for children. Gone are the days of family dinner every night where the family would chat and catch up with their daily happenings. Another growing concern is the decrease in the emotional and physical intimacy between the couples. For example, husband and wife tired after day’s work may have heated arguments over sharing the domestic responsibilities and go to bed distressed.

This has caused a lot of ripple effects on the family. Firstly, a child tends to spent time alone mostly with computers such as playing games or surfing Internet. Without much parental control on his computer usage, child may become less sensitive due to violent video games and may also cross their limits and get into adult things like pornography and youth crimes. Secondly, mutual understanding between the husband and wife slowly fades without having much time for themselves and understanding them better. Finally, this will create serious issues in family bonding and leads to divorces.

In conclusion, parents who work should strictly adhere to the work and life balance and spent a quality time with their family to maintain their family life better.