In many countries it is illegal to reject a potential employee on the basis of age.

What are the positive and negative effects of this policy ?

In most of the countries, there are laws to safeguard elder employees from age discrimination. Therefore, employers should not reject a talented elderly employee's resume just because of age. There are several advantages and disadvantages with this policy.

On one hand, it gives employment opportunities to elder workers and ensures that younger and olders professionals are hired equally in workforce. Older workers may get benefits to employers using their experience. Also, it helps youngsters to learn the valuable techniques and ideas from senior employees. For instance, in my company, whenever there is a meeting with a client, few new joiners also attend these meetings along with superiors, though their presence is not much important. Therefore a new joiner can learn how to handle and interact with clients.

on the other hand, many companies prefer to hire young and energetic job seekers.So that, young blood and new ideas could help employers to run a successful business. Moreover, some advocates believe that this type of laws are decreasing the employment opportunities to young people. For instance, if a 60 years old person is not allowed to work, then it will definitely creates an opportunity to the young people.

In conclusion, age factor should not interfere in the process of hiring an employee as it discourages the old people to apply job even though they are physically fit and could bring benefits to company.Employers can maintain a balanced workplace with young, middle age and old age employees.