many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people.

Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

It is certainly true that many museums and historical places these days do not attract the number of local residents anymore. The reasons and effective measures for the low number of local visitors will be discussed carefully.

To begin with, the primary reason is that local people do not have interest in seeing around these places, as they are not attracted by historical places that they are familiar to their culture backgrounds. They already have known the local historical sites since they were young, so they find the boredom from visiting local attractions. For instance, in Thailand, there are so many historical temples which are attracted only the large number of foreigners annually, whereas native Thai people abandon visiting and some still have not visited these famous temples in their lives.

Secondly, the problem can be caused from the historical attractions as the museum officers are poorly conserved and lack the attempt to improve the museum. Perhaps, the city and the government may not subsidize sufficient budget to operate museums or lacking professionals to create the campaigns and run the sites properly. Taken Siam Art Museum in Bangkok as an example, since the last decade, there has been no change for the improvement which failed to appeal the local people so the majority of the museum is only newcomers.

Lastly, in order to rearrange the historical sites or museums, the authority should continue create campaigns aiming at encouraging native people to visit these places. Redecorations every season can also make local people to be more interested in the activities. Moreover, if the local people give discount to access the attractions, they will more likely to visit frequently. However, in order to achieve these projects, the government should allocate more budgets to operate sites.

In conclusion, several appropriate measures need to be done to gain an increasing number of local visitors. Hopefully, by doing these strategies, it can boost the number of museum visitors.