Many people assume that the goal of every country should be to produce more material and goods. To what extent do you agree or disagree that constantly increasing production is an appropriate goal?

All countries have their own development strategy, such as increasing people's happiness like Bhutan. Almost people think that the appropriate goal for every nation should be to manufacture more and more estates. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this idea.

Admittedly, by dint of producing more goods, value of export and Gross Domestic Product will improve. As a result, the nominated income as well as the foreign exchange reserve of country will go up considerably. Ironically, by no means could this nation become wealthy and rich if it still has to import all components and chains of production to create commodities. For example, Viet Nam now has to import accessories to resemble and produce car, so the added value is very small. Therefore, the country should develop initially its component industry as well as their technology to build a strong and powerful economy.

On the other hand, by virtue of manufacturing more products, people will have a large source of consumer goods. Hence, the consumer surplus will grow up and buyers will have more opportunities to access the cheaper goods. Nevertheless, though this policy bring economic benefits, it also can cause many environmental and health problem to the public. For instance, in order to increase the quantity of goods, many factories will be constructed and release a lot of gases as well as trash to the environment. Worse, chemistry companies usually let out their toxic waste to the water sources and it leads to many diseases of local people such as cancer, heart attack,... In addition, the amount of money to dealt with the problem of polluted environment and sickness may be even greater than the value of produced goods.

In conclusion, every country should set a goal of sustainable economic development to grow their economy without any drawbacks.