News editors decide what to dobroadcast on television and what to print in newspaper.What factors do you think influence these decision ? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

It has often been said that Good news is bad news because it does not sell newspaper. Aradio station that once decided to present only good news soon found that it had gone out of business for lack of listeners.Bad news on the other hand is so common that in order to cope with it, we often simply ignore it. We have become immune to bad news and the newspaper and radio station are aware of his.

While newspaper and TV stations may aim to report world events acuurately. It is also true that their main objective is to sell newspaper and attract listeners and viewers to their stations. For this reason TV and radio stations attempt to reflect the flavour of their station by providing news broadcasts tailor-made to suit their listeners' preferences. Programmes specialising in pop music or TV soap operas focus more on local news, home issues and up-to-date traffic reports.The more serious stations and newspapers like to provide 'so called' objective news reports with editorial comment aimed at analysing the situation.

If it is true ,then, that newspapers and TV stations are tailoring their news to their readers' and viewers' requirements, how can they possibly be reporting real world events in an honest and objective light? Mnay radio and TV stations do in fact, report items of good news but they no longer call this news. They refer to these as human interest stories and package them in programmes specialisng for istance in consume affairs or local issues. Good news now comes to us in yhe form of documentaries: the fight against children's cancer or AIDS or the latest devolepments in the fight to save the planet from enviromental pollution.