Nowadays for many people the Internet is replacing regular books. What do you think will happen in the future and what is your opinion?

The Internet as the mainstream of media plays a very important role in transferring information. Some people assert that internet would take the place of books in the future. However, in my opinion, each medium has its own advantages and disadvantages. Books will always hold a place in our lives.

Admittedly, internet has made our lives very convenient. Firstly, it can transform information instantly. It can tell us what happened in the world right away with very impressive pictures. Secondly, it plays an important role in education. People can study history, culture, language and cooking skills from the internet. Even the books are now available in electronic format (e-books) and that is the reason some people find it a threat to the traditional, physical, book.

However, we should not neglect the importance of books which are very convenient to carry and easy to get. Books are available everywhere, such as in the library, in the book store, in your pocket or beside the pillow. After a day‘s work we can relax in our bed or sofa by reading some book or magazine. Books are also very good travel companions.

Moreover, it is very difficult to sit for long hours glued to the monitor screen. Eye strain and back pain are also some disadvantages of the internet. With so many power cuts, as in my country, we cannot rely on the internet. Last but not least, the day is not far when all people will be able to afford the internet connection.

To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, despite the threat of the internet, the book has maintained its place. So I feel we‘ll never go without books because they have served us so well for so long.