In order to learn a language well, we should also learn about the country as well as the cultures and lifestyles of the people who speak it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The topic of whether students should learn about the country when they are studying a new language is of concern for many people. Some suggest that the understanding of culture and lifestyles of the local people plays a vital role in language learning while others disagree. As for me, I strongly agree the former.

Those who encourage learners to get familiar with the native cultures hold the following reasons. Firstly, it will boost the study interests of the students. As some students find that simply memorising the vocabularies and grammatical structures is boring and tedious, they want to know about the foreign cultures such as living habits and traditions, which satisfies the learning desires of the learners. When people feel that the cultural background of a country is interesting, they will put more effort on the subject.

Secondly, the knowledge of lifestyles and speaking manners benefits the communication with the native speakers. In order to interpret the language expertly, speakers should be able to use the correct slangs and idioms in the sentences when delivering their ideas, which in turn master a fluent language.

However, there are some others say that it is a waste of time to investigate irrelevant things. they believe that they will never travel to other countries, so it is unnecessary to comprehend the local characteristics. For example, some students who enrol in a language course only want to be more employable as being multilingual is ideal when hunting a job. Thus, they only want to focus on the very basic skills instead of the deeper insight of the country.

To sum up, I strongly recommend people to learn the cultural background and historical tradition because it can significantly improve the study efficiency.