A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old fashioned values, such as honour, kindness, and trust no longer seem important.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion

In the 20th century, people are more likely to judge worth of person by one's social status and material possessions rather than mental merits. However, I discord in some aspects. Because I believe worth of a person not only means his wealth, but also his affection.

Those who affect the world or people around them in good manner are obviously valuable. Such as people in public services. Without their work, life of others would become a mass. Values made by bus drivers, environment cleaners, nurses and some other common workers that matters, are so important that they cannot be discarded even one minute. So, they are clearly worthy.

Nevertheless, it is ridiculous to say that people with power or money cannot be worth. Conversely, most time they are more worthy than normal people. Because so easily can they do to better their surroundings. Like entrepreneurs who create jobs and increase nation economic, doctors healing disease and prolong people's lifetime, not to speak of powerful politics. All these people play a hard role in the world, and their value is easy to catch up.

Yet, either types of people could be worthless if they don't give positive feedbacks to society. In addition to this, people who harm others are considered worthless and should be kept in prison.

As a conclusion, from my point of view, physical quality of life or social position are not equal to worth for a person, instead moral things are more relevant. But, it is simpler to get more worthy on enough resource.