Prevention is better than cure.

Out of a country's health budget,a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Some people think that "Prevention is better than cure" and government should invest more money oon preventional and educational health program than treatment. I believe that medical aids and prevention programs are equaly important an the government should allocate same funds for both.

On the one hand, I believe that many diseases might be avoided if the population have knowledge about what actions have to be taken in order to live a healthy life. Governments have an important role to play in maintaining society's health ad several actions can be taken. For example, if strong anti-smoking campaigns are launched the numbers of lung cancer cases may be reduced. For young people and new generations authorities should focus on improving diet and exercise for children in schools. In doing so obesity may be reduced. Finally to prevent future diseases people meed to be informed about what foods contain.

On the other hand, the government's treatment budget come from taxpayers and it would be a bad idea to take money away from the treatment of people who are already ill, especially for the older population who have contributed during their young age. Researchers need government money to continue their search for cures and for development of new medicine. In short, in for everyone to access the same quality of care and treatment, funds should not be reduced.

For reasons mentioned about, both prevention and treatment have the same importance for the health of society and consequently I believe the government should assign the budget in equal proportions.